4 powerful ways to love yourself

4 powerful ways to love yourself

Loving yourself is a process that starts from within. It is about accepting all aspects of yourself, including the light and shadow side.

Each of us has our own set of archetypal patterns, which can help us understand our unconscious and subconscious behaviours and reactions. By embracing all aspects of ourselves, we can heal past wounds, release self-sabotage, and reach our highest potential.

As human beings we each have our own archetypal patterns, such as hermit, opportunist, martyr, investigator, role model, queen, prince, etc.

We also have archetypes that are part of all humanity and are connected to the base, sacral, solralpexus and heart chakras. Each archetype is the keeper of many gifts and challenges and can assist you in understanding your unconscious and subconscious patterns, behaviours, and reactions.

Working with archetypal energy can help you heal past wounds, release self-sabotage, let go of fearful and limiting patterns, reach your highest potential, reclaim your integrity, have more choices, and become self-empowered.

Here are four steps that you can work with to accept your shadow, connect with your archetypes, and cultivate more inner love.

1. Define self-love

The first step to loving yourself is to define what self-love means to you.

You can ask yourself questions like “what does self-love mean to me?” or “how can I show more love to myself?”

You can visualise a cup inside yourself that represents your level of self-love and care. Is the cup full or empty? If it’s empty, you can ask yourself, “how am I giving myself away?” and “what steps can I take to fill my heart up?”

This could include engaging in loving activities such as having a luxurious bath, getting a massage, or spending some relaxing time alone or with a friend.

2. Embrace all aspects of yourself

To love yourself fully, it is essential to embrace all aspects of yourself, including the parts you don’t like or have pushed away.

You can make a list of all the judgements you have made about yourself and give each part a name. For example, if you discover a victim part of yourself that you don’t like, you can call it Victim Vicky or Victor. You can visualise what this part of yourself looks like and talk to it, letting it know that you want to understand and accept it.

The more you can accept all of yourself, the more alive you will feel. You can also work with the victorious Vicky and Victor which can empower you to be courageous.

Understanding Modern Spirituality by Inna Segal.

Understanding Modern Spirituality by Inna Segal.

3. Celebrate successes

Creating a daily practice of acknowledging and celebrating your successes can help you cultivate self-love.

Every time you do something positive, you can stop for a moment, place your hands on your heart, and deeply acknowledge it.

You can also do something special to celebrate your achievements once or twice a week. This could include treating yourself to a nice meal, buying yourself something you’ve been wanting, or spending time doing something you enjoy.

4. Practise positive affirmations

Practising positive affirmations is another powerful way to love yourself.

Every morning, you can focus on a part of our body or personality that you have been challenged by and say positive affirmations.

For example, if you feel that you are overweight, you can say, “I love my body, and my body loves me. I will nourish it with healthy food, and it will take on the shape that makes me feel good.”

By repeating these affirmations regularly, you can shift your mindset and cultivate self-love.

Loving yourself is a journey that requires patience, compassion, and self-awareness. By embracing all aspects of yourself, celebrating your success, and practising positive affirmations, you can cultivate self-love and live a more fulfilling life.

Remember, the most important relationship you have is the one you have with yourself. So start showing yourself the love and care you deserve today.

Inna Segal

This article was written by Inna Segal.

She is a bestselling, award-winning author of several books and cards about wellness and healing. Her new book, Understanding Modern Spirituality (Rockpool Publishing) is out now. Purchase a copy here.